Model J Vintage in the New York Times Style Section!

Me and my vintage outfit made it into the New York Times Style Section this past Sunday January 1st, 2012. I was swing dancing at the Plaza Atrium in Manhattan to the Vince Giordano and The Nighthawks big band. A lot of my fellow dancers and I came out dressed to the nines in vintage as we had all attended the Vintage Train ride together to dance on the platforms and on the trains to live music. Here is the link to Bill Cunningham’s NYT Evening Hours Column

Photo by Bill Cunningham

in the Style section and Bill Cunningham’s photo of me dancing in my 1930s felt hat with white trim, red wool 1940s dress with belt, front waist gathers, back buttons and decorative buttons down the sleeves, and retro mary janes circa 2008 from London. Those shoes were a must have purchased on the last day of my trip. They have served me very well, accenting countless vintage ensembles I have put together since then. My dancing partners are Samuel Coleman and Arturo Perez Saad.

Front view of red wool 1940s dress and ensemble

Here are some photos from the vintage train ride as well that occurred earlier in the day. It is so much fun to meet up with other vintage attired dancers and vintage enthusiasts for  hours of dancing on the platform and in the cars while the train is moving. This is my third year in a row attending this event and I wouldn’t miss it for the world! It is amusing to see the vintage advertising in the trains and ponder how much life has changed. The wonderful construction details of the old trains are always a pleasure to see as well. I personally like the old textured seats, the green color, the typefaces that were used for notices and all the exposed bolts. There was a tea party as well that was going on while some of us were dancing. Perhaps I will attend that next year as well. Bring your own tea cup! Musicians are Gordon Au Ensemble. Dancers in foreground are Michael Blank and Jeri Lynn Astra Herbert,

Vintage Train Dancing #2

Train in Background at 2nd Ave Station

Vintage Train Dancing #1

Swing Dancing on the Platform

Leave a comment